432 presents:

Slum Village X Abstract Orchestra

Stereo, Glasgow

Buy Tickets

Chances are, if you are anywhere near the Detroit music scene, you have heard of the influential hip hop trio that makes up Slum Village. The group was founded in the early 90's by 3 childhood friends: Baatin, T3, rapper and producer J Dilla, who all grew up together in the Conant Gardens neighborhood of Detroit, MI. After leaving Pershing High School, the trio began to forge a path into the Detroit underground hip hop scene and quickly found themselves steadily gaining popularity, where they originally went by the name Ssenepod.

In 1991 they changed their name to Slum Village, recording their first album Vol. 1" , recorded in Dilla’s basement and RJ Rice Studios. Slum Village landed their first record deal in 1998 with Barak/AM records. In 2001, J Dilla made the decision to leave the group to pursue his solo career, but still hung around helping Young RJ with production. Baatin and T3 started work on their next album "Trinity" through Barak/Capital Records. This album would feature their first commercial single "Tainted" which featured an unknown artist names Dwele, the single Disco and the remix produced by Timberland.

In 2002, “Dirty District”, a compilation of songs by Detroit rappers largely produced by T3 and Young RJ, was released. 2004 album, “Detroit Deli” (A Taste of Detroit), the album included the hit single “Selfish” produced by Kanye West, featuring John Legend.

2005 marked the release of “Prequel To a Classic”, a mix tape with production from Young RJ and Black Milkm while in in 2009, Slum started production on their next album, “Villa Manifesto”.

In 2010, the album "Villa Manifesto" was released under Ne'astra/Koch Records, followed in 2011/2012 Slum Village by new mixtape “Dirty Slums Vol. 1 & Vol.2”, presented by DJ Mick Boogie featuring artists such as Rapper Big Pooh, De La Soul, Focus, Skyzoo, Phonte, and Fife, receiving over 100,000 downloads.

• 2013/2014 “B-Sides” and Vintage albums were released. • 2015/2016 “YES” was released, produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J. Dilla and Young RJ. • 2018 Slum’s new release titled “Lost Scrolls Vol. 2” • 2019 The Source • 2020 Fantastic 2020 Vol. 1 & 2 w/ Abstract Orchestra

Slum Village continues their journey with invigorated energy as T3 and Grammy nominated producer Young RJ hold down the legacy, with his solo projects “World Tour” & “Blaq Royalty albums featuring Pete Rock |Pino Palladino | Eric Roberson | Boldy James | BJ The Chicago Kid | Joyner Lucas |Mega Ran | Blu | Sorry Drummer

Line Up

Slum Village X Abstract Orchestra

By signing up you agree to receive news and offers from 432 Presents. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more details see the privacy policy.